FAQS

RENTAL REQUIREMENTS

Q. Can I ride double on a moped?

A. It is against the law in the state of Hawaii to ride two people on a moped. If you have a motorcycle license you might consider renting our motor scooters. They seat 2 people and can ride on all roadways.

Q.What if I've never ridden a moped before?

A. We get a lot of first time riders and won't let you leave until you feel comfortable. We'll have you watch an instructional video on how to operate the moped and we'll even follow behind you to make sure you feel comfortable on your road test around the block.

If you still don't feel comfortable then we'll happily refund your full payment. We appreciate you trying.

Q. Where should we take the mopeds?

A. Be adventurous! Go everywhere, but you must go to Diamond Head, Hanauma Bay, and Kailua. Check out our maps and rides page for some suggested routes.

Q. Do you require a deposit, and if so how much?

A. We only require a deposit if you you opt out of our Hawaiian Style Coverage promotion. The Hawaiian Style Coverage Promotions covers 100% of theft,  damage and downtime to your rental, includes roadside service for any flat tires or incidents, free parking for multiple day rentals (at our Lemon Road location only), allows after hour returns for any rental due back at closing (not including the scoot coupes) and there's no need to deal with any personal claim or deductible. Please note we still would need a credit or debit card on file for your rental.

Q. What is the speed limit of the roadways we are allowed to drive?

A. The mopeds cannot go on any roadway faster than 45 mph.

Q. Why are they called mopeds when they look like scooters?

A. In Hawaii they are classified as mopeds even though they have no pedals and are called scooter in other states, like California.

Q. I have never ridden a moped before, do I need experience?

A. No experience is necessary. About 70 percent of our customers have never ridden a moped until they came to us. We give free lessons and will not let you leave until you feel comfortable. It is just like riding a bicycle!

If you don't feel comfortable after your test lap then we'll gladly refund your rental. We appreciate you trying.

Q. Where am I allowed to drive a moped?

A. You are allowed to drive the mopeds on every road except for H-1, H-2, H-3, the Pali and the Like Like and the Farrington. Please be between Waimanalo and Pearl Harbor after 5:00 pm. The riding conditions are unsafe outside of these boundaries after hours.

Q. Can the mopeds make it to the North Shore?

A. Sure! All you have to do is follow the coast all the way around! It's a long ride, 120 miles, and definitely not for the weak at heart. Please be aware, that we don't encourage first timers to ride around the whole island.

Q. Is there a weight limit?

A. There is no weight limit. You should see the football players that rent during the Pro Bowl!

Q. Can I rent a moped if I am pregnant?

A. We do not encourage anyone who is pregnant to ride on a rental. Please consult your physician before reserving your rental.

Q. Do I need to make a reservation?

A. Hawaii is busy year round, so to guarantee we will have your moped you must reserve it online.

Q. What does the rental include?

A. The rental includes helmets, locks, a lesson, detailed tour maps and a new well maintained scooter.

Q. Where are we allowed to park the mopeds and what do you mean you offer overnight parking?

A. You can conveniently park the mopeds on the sidewalk. Make sure to attach them to the bike racks. We have a secure parking garage at our Lemon Road location designated for our customers that is accessible 24 hours a day for just $5 per moped and $8 per motor scooter.

Q. Do I need a drivers license?

A. All you need is a drivers license and to be 18 years old for our mopeds and for our motor scooters you will need a motorcycle license and be 21 years old.

Q. What if I only have a license from another country?

A. As long as it makes sense when you present it to us at the shop it should be ok.

Q. How old do you have to be to rent a two passenger motor scooter?

A. You must be 21 years old with a valid motorcycle license to rent a two passenger scooter.

Q. How old do you have to be to rent a moped?

A. You must be 18 years old to rent a moped

Q. How do I reserve with the Go Oahu Card online?

A. All reservations for the Go Oahu Card or Power Pass must be made online. For all Go Card customers simply typle the discount code "Go" at the time of the rental and you will receive a free 4 hour rental. For all Power Pass customers your discount code is "Power" A credit card is still required to create the reservation. Simply present your card at the time of the rental and your credit card will never be charged. Click here for information on the Go Oahu Card.

Q. What if I return my rental early?

A. We will only charge you for the time you use and refund the remaining value.

Q. Do you offer hotel pick up and drop off?

A. We do offer cab credit for your hotel pick up. Catch a cab or ride share over to our location and we will put the fare toward the rental. It is only available for pick up, not drop off, and only available for direct bookings. Please note, we can only honor a $10 cab credit.

Q. Do you guys deliver mopeds?

A. We are proud to offer islandwide delivery. Please visit our islandwide delivery page for details.

Q. Do you offer any surfboard storage?

A. Sorry we do not offer any surf board storage at this time.